ME AT WALL BW Wall04bbbw_largeMy Book / Our Story

Welcome. My blog invites everyone to contribute their stories about growing up a baby boomer. The 50s, 60s and 70’s – they were great times to be raised. Of course, some experiences weren’t so great but provide a million laughs now.

My story is a coming of age tale about a boy humbly crushed by the expectation to succeed in our fast-paced, modern generation – all chronicled in my memoir, Maybe Boomer. Many of my blogs address issues from the book, but now I want to hear your stories.

Cherished baby boom icons from the past also interest me, from TV commercials, toys to rituals that have long since disappeared.  They are highlighted in my regular Remember This?” blog. I also like to write about contemporary issues, particularly as they shed light on experiences that span decades. You can read them in my third blog, “The Daily Post.”

Avatar image: Roxane Hopper

The diner image above is a photograph I took in Bethesda, Maryland, in the 1980s – The American Diner with nostalgic billboard illuminated just behind. To view the full image, click “Diner.” 

6 Comments

Filed under Blog

6 responses to “

  1. My childhood began in 70’s. Honestly, they are the best years. Simple, carefree, people are so connected even if they don’t have the high tech stuff of today. Kids can go out and play safely and pretty much we know our neighbors by heart. It was a beautiful time which I pray can still happen in my son’s generation. Inspiring blog my friend. Thank you. All the best to you and your family.

  2. Your response was inspirational to me. I believe those meaningful times you and I appreciate CAN be part of your son’s life in his modern generation, and one day he will thank you for all your work now. You are a strong man for trying to give this to your son. Life is about core essentials. Strip away the modern accessories – often distracting and unnecessary – and you have what man has had for centuries, and has done quite well with. Carry on those traditions. Your lovely post about traditions reminds me that’s what what my memoir Maybe Boomer is really all about! (see more on my website) Thanks so much for responding back to me.

  3. Looking forward to reading more of your blog. We could all use a walk down memory lane. Life might not have been as convenient when I was a child in the 70s, but it was a lot slower and a lot simpler than now.

    • Yes, they were. As I tend to concentrate sometimes on the 60s in my writings, I know that the 70s were truly some of the most formative years in my life – kind of a transition from ‘the way things were’ to ‘the way they were going to be from now on’ in the more modern/tech world we currently live in. … Thanks for your thoughts today, Paprika.

  4. 3rd blog? Wow- where do you find the time?! I seem to be over-ambitious. I have 50 ideas and accomplish 3. :0) But hey, as long as the dreams are alive…

    And boy oh boy do I remember being raised in the ’70’s. Everything was brown and green!

  5. I think this is among the most important info for me. And i’m glad reading your article.
    But want to remark on few general things,
    The site style is perfect, the articles is really excellent : D.
    Good job, cheers

Leave a comment